Skip to content

The Madding Crowd: “At Home with the Austens” Family Day

July 6, 2012

On Saturday 30th June, the weather kept fine and warm, and many people visited the Museum for the “At Home with the Austens Family Day”.

Visitors could see items not normally on show at the museum…try their hand at making lavender bags, or orange pomanders..attempt country games such as the tug-of-war or sack races, or could also simply sit in the beautiful gardens listening throughout the day to some wonderful music provided by The Madding Crowd

Dressed in period costume, they entertained the audience for hours. We thought you might like to see a gallery of photographs of their performance. Simply click on the first of the thumbnails below to see the photographs in detail.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Aline permalink
    July 6, 2012 12:57 pm

    What a lovely day! I must say it sounds so welcoming and cozy! I wish I was there too, trying to make my own lavender bag…

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      July 6, 2012 1:25 pm

      Thank you! It was a very interesting day, perhaps one day you will be able to join us!

  2. July 6, 2012 2:04 pm

    Sounds delightful! I, too, wish I could have been there to enjoy the music. I am a pomander maker of many years experience and it is a delightful craft.

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      July 6, 2012 2:14 pm

      I’m sure you would have enjoyed it, Mrs K 😉 Thank you so much for commenting!

  3. Lila permalink
    July 6, 2012 2:58 pm

    Yes, making bags and pomanders is something I would love to learn 🙂
    Thanks for the photos – so green and revealing the grounds around the house. I’m always interested in views of exterior.

  4. Angela permalink
    July 6, 2012 3:58 pm

    How does one make a lavendar bag? Thanks so much for the post! What a lovely time!

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      July 6, 2012 7:09 pm

      They are very easy. Make a pocket out of two pieces of light material, like muslin. You can hand stitch it using a running stich or use a machine (for speed) Fill with dried lavender, and tie with a pretty ribbon.

  5. July 9, 2012 2:28 pm

    Beautiful! We just got back to America after a wonderful trip to the museum … http://www.susanbranch.com … we just LOVED it!! Thank you!!

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      July 9, 2012 2:39 pm

      What a fabulous account of your visit, Susan.Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, you appear to have had a really great time.Thank you, once again for visiting.

      • July 9, 2012 2:41 pm

        We just loved it, and my blog readers, from the sound of it, will be flocking to see it when possible. Very special place. Wonderful people who worked there too! Happy to find your blog!

      • jfwakefield permalink*
        July 9, 2012 2:49 pm

        That’s very kind of you, Susan. I’ll let everyone at the house know of your kind words. I’m glad you’ve found our blog too- do spread the word!

      • July 20, 2012 1:48 pm

        My goodness, Julie, I thought the name looked familiar, I have had two books of Susan’s, lovely account of Museum visit and a lovely blog. Small world.

  6. cathyallen permalink
    July 11, 2012 3:52 pm

    For me, it couldn’t get much better than visiting Jane Austen’s home, and live period music in the garden. It looks like a splendid time was had by all! I’d like to have been there, so thanks for the pictures and descriptions.

  7. July 20, 2012 1:48 pm

    I agree with everyone, looks absolutely delightful.

Leave a Reply

