Skip to content

Christmas Decorations at Jane Austen’s House, Part 2

December 29, 2011

Continuing the theme from last week, here are photographs of the upstairs rooms, on the first floor, all decorated for the season. First, the flowers on the windowsill of the window, seen as you ascend the stairs, with its view of the garden to the rear of the house:

The Austen Family Room….

Next, the room devoted to Jane’s Sailor Brothers, Frank and Charles

The fireplace in Jane’s Bedroom…

and, finally, the flowers on the window seat of the window that looks from Jane Austen’s House towards the lane leading to Chawton House.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy Farmer permalink
    December 29, 2011 1:27 pm

    The decorations look lovely and what a beautiful bedroom Jane had!

  2. Karen Field permalink
    December 30, 2011 3:30 am

    Lovely! I don’t know how I missed the 1st post but this one was lovely!

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      January 1, 2012 8:24 pm

      Thank you, Karen! We are really pleased you liked the Christmas tour of Jane’s house.

  3. Cathy Allen permalink
    January 3, 2012 11:16 pm

    I somehow missed this post before now, but I’m glad I finally got to see it. We have something slightly out of the ordinary in our house that is also in Jane Austen’s house, and that is Window Seats! I believe I have never seen that particular view before now, and I believe that I shall think of her when I sit on ours, in the living room, or in the dining room. Oh, yes, and I love the understated decorations, too! Thank you.

    • jfwakefield permalink*
      January 4, 2012 10:34 am

      HOw lovely for you! I think that view is charming-the window illuminates the corridor that runs the width of the house.

Leave a Reply

